Projects

In an attempt to shake off this creeping, odious feeling that the University of Kansas is going to swallow me whole before May, I thought I might share some of what’s keeping me going.

First off, I am wearing really awesome socks right now. You can’t see them, because they are hidden by my wonderful rancher Rocket Dog boots. The socks knit out of the Mini Mochi I bought on a whim from the LYS a few weeks ago. I am still deciding if its a curse or a blessing, arriving in Lawrence just in time for the Yarn Barn to open up. The advantage being, however, that I can knit socks during my astronomy lecture and stay awake quite easily. (For the record, this yarn says it is superwash, but it kind of shrunk in the washing cycle, so beware knitters.) They were lovely to knit with, however, and the yarn is a very soft singles with some nylon spun in, so I am not too concerned about how they will wear.

I have been working on a lot of little projects. I know, I know, you are all asking the computer screen right now, “Why did you buy three sweaters worth of yarn in September if all you are going to knit are socks and mittens?” Because, my friends, I am what you might call overly optimistic. I think, sure, I can take three really challenging literature courses and try to learn astronomy even though I am not spatial in the slightest and have no scientific vocabulary whatsoever, (what can I say, including words like “mass”, “velocity” and “the conservation of angular momentum” just do not drop themselves naturally into my sentences, it’s a flaw) and still have the brain power to work on a lace cardigan with button holes and men’s sweater with lots of cables. Turns out I am only suited for simple, repetitive knitting where I do the same stitch 10,000 stitches in a row.

I am working on the cutest set for my son. Athrun wants one yellow mitten, one blue mitten, a red hat with a giant pom, and a green scarf. He started asking for a new winter set in August, when it was regularly 105 degrees outside. Now that it is nearly November and I had frost on my window this morning, I figure it might be about time to get started. I have the mittens done. I am knitting everything out of bare wool and then Athrun and I are dyeing them together. He gets to stir the dyebath, and is not very good at waiting.

I also started knitting up a pair of fingerless mitts for the boyfriend out of the Blue-faced Leicester yarn I have been dyeing. It is beautiful. It’s very light, and drinks in the dye like it’s been lost in the desert for years. The mitts are dyed a chestnut brown, and the way the yarn is knitting up it has an almost tweedy look to it.

I am also knitting my first project out of the Merino yarn I have been dyeing as well. Brock is getting socks and mitts this months, since he vocally appreciates being warm in the winter. The color is denimy blue, but the dye was called Gun Metal and it still bugs me that it doesn’t look very metally to me.

I picked up a leaf off the sidewalk at school the other day. It was a mottled maple leaf with hues of yellow, red, orange, and just a little chartreuse left in the middle. I wish I had a photograph, but the poor thing got crushed in my purse. The colors, however, are going to be my first foray into dyeing roving. I have one pound of plain white wool top, and I might as well give dyeing it a try since it doesn’t look like I am going to get around to spinning it anytime soon.

Pictures to follow, hopefully later today, but I make no promises.

Leave a Reply

