New Year’s Eve

…And just when you’ve have as much New Year musing as you can take, I blithely step up to beat a dead horse.

Today is my New Year’s Eve. Yes, I did celebrate on the 31st, and yes I am aware that today is 4th of January and we are already into the New Year, but you see, tomorrow is my birthday.  It is the literal start of my new year, and while most people take the week after Christmas to begin evaluating how much they have screwed up in the past year, I usually don’t start until I am toasting in the New Year.

So tomorrow I turn 26, and all I want from year 2011/26 is to relax. 2010/25 was a year of hard work. I had too hard semesters coupled with working full time and attempting to be a good mom. I was exhausted to whole time. I don’t want to feel exhausted anymore. This semester will not only be my final semester, but it worked out that I only have to go to school part-time to graduate. While I can’t cut back any at work, having to devote less time to school should add more time for things like exercising, fiber arts, and making play-doh monsters. I received a book about Urban Homesteading for Christmas, which I hope to make use of to save some money and some energy. My overall goal this year is to slow down, become more self-sufficient, more economical, to love my body and my home. Because while finally attaining my degree is important to me, I do not want it to rule my life any longer.

One major step away from being a student and learning to be more self-sufficient is to start my business. I won’t be able to work from home exclusively for some time yet, but my hope is, that between the fiber arts and the writing, I can carve out some sort of Work-At-Home niche for myself in the next five years.

This is the year I start. So tonight, at midnight, when I raise a glass and toast another year, this year, I will be laughing and having fun. Because there are so many wonderful possibilities.

Leave a Reply

