Day Off

Athrun and I made cupcakes today.

I am not sure why, but he always asks if we can use green frosting. I don’t  normally acquiesce, but today I couldn’t think of a good reason not to.

I also allowed him to add the sprinkles himself.

Not all of them had such a concentration of sprinkles. Take this one for instance:

This cupcake reminds me of taking a walk in the park on a nice spring day. The grass is new, there are wild flowers dotting the landscape, and some considerate person has let their giant dog crap all over the place without bothering to clean it up.

That being said, I do think the cupcakes with only chocolate sprinkles on green frosting look rather posh.

Athrun helped me photograph some yarn. I asked him to run and get me one of his tiny toy dinos to include in the pictures. He brought me a foam cutout of a dino silhouette, a transformer, and an elephant. I regret that none are pictured.

I call this one “Bunch of Bananas”. Not that I was going for a banana theme when I dyed it, but reskeined, “Banana” is all I can think of.

The other thing I did today was spin. I don’t think I have spun for about a month. I probably spun 1/2 oz of my bright yellow merino birthday batt. For experienced spinners, 1/2 oz is nothing, but I still spin really slowly. I am finally getting the feel for how much is enough twist, and how to adjust my wheel to keep the wool from getting away from me. Athrun helped me treadle for awhile, but lost interest when I wouldn’t let him play with the orifice hook.

Athrun and I went for a walk today for the first time since he outgrew his stroller last year. We live very near one of the nature trails in the city, which was a nice a walk. I didn’t take my camera, which was good because I ended up having to piggy back Athrun back to the apartment, but there was some new grass sprouting, and I was so excited I really wanted to take pictures. It hasn’t been nearly as cold this year as it was last year, but I am more than prepared to keep the balcony door open, let the fresh air in, plant my balcony garden, and go jogging outside instead of at the gym.  Today was a really nice, temperate day, and I am really glad I got to spend the day with the kiddo and not yoked to an espresso machine.

Leave a Reply

