Sneak Attack!

I got a great surprise this evening while working on the essay I was so excited about last night. Here I am preparing to tell my troubles to the world, and then have a nice long nap because I have been feeling slightly under the weather, when all of a sudden, I look down at my phone and notice I have something like ten billion emails. Ok, so it was more like 8, but still, that’s more than I ever get in that particular account at a time. Sure enough, I check it, and I have four sales and four payment confirmations! And then it just kept on coming….

So far tonight I have sold 11 items out of the 24 I had listed in my shop. I am just going to call that half. Half my shop in one evening. And I have The Handmade Movement to thank for it. I would recommend checking out the website. It’s a really great idea. I also had no idea it existed. This website encourages folks to buy handmade items from new etsy shop en mass, which also helps kick off sales for that shop. They call it a sneak attack, and I think it’s a fabulous idea. I plan on participating in the future.

I couldn’t be more flattered to be included in tonight’s sneak attack, and I really look forward to help brighten some other new seller’s day the way mine just has been.

Thank you all!

Oh! And I somehow managed to finish my essay. It has been a very good night.

2 responses to “Sneak Attack!

  1. I was so glad to see you on the Sneak Attack today! I got really excited about the lime green yarn the other day and tweeted about your shop a bit, and I really wanted to support you because, hey, hand-dyed yarn named after dinosaurs! But I have absolutely no dollars right now. I’m glad you got a kick start to your Etsy shop, even though I couldn’t participate. Doesn’t that first sale feel great?

    -Sarita Li

    • I completely understand the no dollars thing. It has taken some very strategic planning to get this business going. I noticed the tweet, even though I am rather a twitter novice. And I appreciate all the support that’s been coming in the last few days. And if you ever find yourself in a position to purchase some lime green yarn and I don’t happen to have any. Just let me know. I can make you whatever you like.

Leave a Reply

