Greener Shades and Farmers Markets


4 oz. BFL Roving dyed with greener shades acid dyes.

Part of the idea of starting my shop was to become a source not only of beautiful high quality fiber, but to also to do that in as an environmentally friendly way as possible.  Because of the sales I have made so far, I have been able to take a few more steps toward that goal. Last week, I ordered the greener shades dyes I have had my eyes on for awhile. They have no heavy metals in them, which makes disposal of dye bath easier and more ethical. Also, they meet the criteria for organic production, so when I receive the organic Lincoln CVM roving I just ordered from a local farm, it can still be called organic after I dye it with the Greener Shades dyes.

With the farmer’s markets starting up, I hope to be able to start a dialog with some more local fiber farms and get some good quality Kansas wool up on the website.

This is gearing up to be a very exciting summer. For the month of April, I have been able to arrange myself to have Sundays off my day job. This means I can dedicate most of the day to the fiber arts, which can only mean good things for the shop. I have been mulling over ways to make self-striping and gradient dyeing yarns easier…I tried some gradient dyeing on Wednesday which ended in a disastrous mess of knotted wet yarn. At least I learned my lesson about following directions on the internet from my virtual yarn-selling competitors and am coming up with my own, more expedient methods.


2 Skeins of 100% Merino sock yarn in semi-solid violets. Also dyed with greener shade dyes.

One response to “Greener Shades and Farmers Markets

  1. bright and wonderful! Can’t wait to see the farmer’s markets you become involved with!!

Leave a Reply

